Melvita Apricosma Body Balm

DSC_1712_small.png

Once upon a time, I received a sample of Melvita Apricosma Body Balm in one of the various beauty boxes that I had subscribed to. It lay at the bottom of one drawer, and another, then another.. Finally, it was time to try it out.

DSC_1714_small.png

Melvita Body Balm is actually a thick body butter, that is fairly stiff in the tub, and needs rubbing in when onto skin. The texture is smooth and buttery, and there’s a hefty moisturising feel when on the skin. It doesn’t absorb straight away, and it makes a barrier between the skin and air.

For someone with super dry skin, this is a Godsend for arms and hands that feel continuously dry. The only down-side is that it is super heavy, and the tackiness will transfer to anything touched.

I’ll confess when I actually saw how tiny this 15ml tub was, I was sure I would be able to finish it under a week. It’s actually surprising how this little tub has lasted almost a month. A little goes a long way, since a tiny amount will have to be massaged very rigorously.

When it comes to body moisturisers and body butters, I got through them like water. So most body butter or lotion doesn’t stay long, and rarely leaves an impression.

Melvita Body Balm is a product that I would never have purchased, especially given the price point of £23 for 150ml. I think unless I had tried it out for myself, and seen the quality, I would never have been able to justify the price. At this point though, I definitely see this as a holy grail product and when I finish my current stack of body butters, I will be purchasing a full-sized tub.

 

What’s your favourite moisturiser?

Leave a comment